Twitter Facebook Youtube


As a Centre of Excellence for gender and development in the ECOWAS region, EGDC collaborates with government institutions, international organizations, non-governmental organizations and civil society groups, including:

  • Ministries and departments in charge of gender issues in the fifteen ECOWAS Member States
  • National Assemblies of Member States
  • International institutions and organizations
  • Research and training institutions
  • Development agencies
  • The private sector.
  • The media
  • Civil society organizations, including women and youth organizations
  • Religious leaders
  • Opinion leaders
  • Professional associations, including women lawyers
  • Traditional authorities

At the regional level, we provide leadership and support to:

  • The Network on Peace and Security for Women in the ECOWAS Region (NOPSWECO),
  • The West African Network of Young Women Leaders (ROAJELF), and
  • The ECOWAS Female Parliamentarian Association (ECOFEPA).

At the continental and international levels, EGDC is a member of the following bodies:

  • The working group on Women, Peace and Security coordinated by the United Nations Office for West Africa (UNOWA)
  • The Gender Thematic Group coordinated by UN-Women
  • The African Union’s Gender Task Force
  • Interim Steering Committee of the African Gender, Peace and Governance Network
  • The Meeting of African Women Leaders’ organizing committee
  • NEPAD’s Gender Task Force
  • The Network of Spanish and African Women for a Better World
  • The Steering Committee for the Women, Peace and Security Institute of the Kofi Annan International Peacekeeping Training Centre


    Share on :

    Twitter Facebook Google Plus Linkedin Youtube Instgram

    H.E. Dr. Omar Alieu Touray, President of the ECOWAS Commission1